Closing two weeks work and ready for recovery

2015-04-22 16.34.59

Today’s set up, for easy warmup and minimal loading and unloading 290 reached with 45/35/25/15 pound bumpers and a set of 2.5’s.

Today was day 8 out of 9 that I have put a barbel on my back and done squats. It was a solid two weeks of work, with only one day off and as I finished the last of the work that I will do for the next few days I was filled with a great feeling of accomplishment. I’m finding a groove again, and it is odd to say it but I function best in my current situation. Before starting this I had been dating someone since getting back from Fort Sill, and in the package that goes along with including someone in your life my time at the gym had kind of wandered off. I still went in and did the WOD, but my inner drive to put my time there first was challenged to make a place for someone else. There were days that I had to make choices about going in or making time for the lady. Workouts were cut short, some were missed, meals were included that were outside of my normal habits because it didn’t rock the boat. I don’t know if she is reading this, and I don’t intend to say that the relationship was a distraction. There was a period of it that I was the happiest that I had been in a very long time, and because of that I was willing to make those choices. But as with most things it ran a course and eventually came to a close. Since the relationship has ended I found things falling into place again. Routines that had gotten out sync started to fall back into place again.  Diet is back on track, I’m getting leaner and my work in the gym has been improving. It’s odd to admit to yourself that in order to be the best version of you that is possible you need a little discontent and unhappiness. When I was happy and comfortable there was not the push that I currently have. So I’m back in the gym, hitting it hard day in and day out, and making the choices that I know will end in results. And I’m starting to see those results more and more, today I went to put on my compression shorts and they were tight. Not uncomfortable tight but still tighter than it has been in the past.

2015-04-22 16.30.09

Very white legs, but stretched out compression shorts showing that this squatting thing might be paying off.

The next few days are slated for rest and recovery, with tattoo time, motorcycle riding, and hanging out with friends. I can’t wait to have a few days to let the muscles rest and get ready to take on the third week of this cycle. Third week means adding another 10 pounds to the reps from this week and get ready to test the week after the 5k to see what improvements I can make. I’m supposed to shoot for around 30-40 pounds on my old max. Time to see how all the work that I have put in has paid off. This week was a total volume of 45925, amazing numbers when added with last week and the realization that all this squatting was done in under 10 days. I guess sometimes you just need to squat every day.

Leave a comment